Week 3 Artist Interview Yireh Elaine Kwak

Yireh Elaine Kwak.  She likes to paint landscape and nature.  She grew up in West Covina and now currently lives in Fullerton.  When she was younger she would draw her backyard.  Yireh’s style is painting from observation and uses pastel.  First she observes her landscape.  She then goes and sketches it from memory and uses detail to remove anything deemed useless.  At her studio she starts painting it from her memory and intuition.  All of the paintings she had displayed in the gallery were started last semester and finished over winter break.  Yireh’s style is pastel and she likes to paint landscape and nature.

IMG_1815 IMG_1824Left to right.  Distraction Disruption by Maryann Gonzales, Jumble by Yireh Elaine Kwak

 

Distraction Disruption by Maryann Gonzales was in the Gatov West Gallery along with Yireh Elaine Kwak.  I know it isn’t by Yireh, however I really enjoyed this painting.  I really liked this piece because of the color scheme and the message.  There is a highway and all the cars are supposed to be mirrors.  In the mirrors it displays people who are blindfolded.  It represents present day how so many people are distracted while driving and how accidents can easily happen behind the wheel while distracted.  In one of the mirrors it shows a person texting and another person doing their makeup.  These are actions people decide to do everyday while driving and it can easily lead to major accidents.  If people were to just focus on driving then themselves and others would be safer.

 

I really liked Jumble by Yireh Elaine Kwak because reminded me of the flowers my mother used to grow when I used to live in my old house back when I was in elementary school.  I believe it is the exact same flowers my mother grew in her garden but I do not recall what it was called.  I really liked how detailed it was and how detailed the background was incorporated.  Even though the painting is not mine, it really hit home because it reminds me of the home I grew up in and the woman who raised me and who I love very much.

 

Leave a Reply

